Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award

This award is presented to a full-time faculty member to honor outstanding research and creative activity of national and international significance. The president and the provost determine the recipients on the basis of a faculty committee report on nominations received.

2024 Honorees



Margaret Burnham
University Distinguished Professor of Law; Director, Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project; Faculty Co-Director, Center for Law, Equity and Race

Alan Mislove
Professor of Computer Sciences; Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Khoury College of Computer Sciences


Tina Eliassi-Rad
Professor of Computer Sciences

Alicia Sasser Modestino
Research Director of the Dukakis Center for Urban and Regional Policy and Associate Professor of Public Policy and Urban Affairs and Economics


John Engen
Distinguished Professor and James L. Waters Chair in Chemistry, College of Science

Woodrow Hartzog
Professor of Law and Computer Sciences, School of Law and Khoury College of Computer Sciences


Sonia Rolland
Professor of Law and Faculty Director, LLM and International Programs

Olga Vitek
Professor of Computer Sciences and Director of the MS in Data Science Program


Christo Wilson
Associate Professor of Computer Sciences


Guevara Noubir 
Professor of Computer Sciences


Jennifer Dy 
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering